Ghanchakkar – Continousss Thokampatti   Leave a comment

“My head is brimming with fun. So when I write Saabun ki shakal mein, beta tu toh nikla kewal jhaag (Bhaag DK Bose), I am the first one to laugh,” says super talented singer/songwriter Amitabh Bhattacharya – The reluctant lyricist.  With lyrics that distinguish the mundane with the absurd, unconventional, eccentric (Chai mein dooba biskut ho gaya, Wakda, What to do) to the poignant (Ab mujh mein kahin,Mahek Bhi, Raabta ), he says “Ninety-nine per cent of the time, I write lyrics to tunes. My brain works 10 times faster that way” and indeed, his brain’s on a Continousss Thokampatti which has added that extra zing to the loony Ghanchakkar.

Ghanchakkar is a forthcoming comedy thriller directed by Rajkumar Gupta which stars Emraan Hashmi, Vidya Balan, Rajesh Sharma, Namit Das. Amitabh Bhattacharya’s good old friend Amit Trivedi has provided music and the album contains only 5 tracks including a remix.

ghanchakkar

Lazy Lad of Richa Sharma
“Most men are couch potatoes. When I am at home I pretty much do what I am doing in the video that we just shot. It’s just chilling in front of the television, switching channels and just sometime staring into nothing – I think that’s my best pass time. If I lock myself on the couch, I can go on for like 7-8 hours without doing anything. And I don’t hear sounds, just glue to the television.” says Emraan and I have to agree to him because I just do the same on weekends esp on Super Sundays where all sporting events gather for a feast: it goes like this.. Cricket, Sportscenter, F1, EPL, Bundesliga, La liga, and Lazy Lad is just an ideal song to dedicate it to those who Let ke sofe pe kilaan gaade, Plasma TV ka mukhda taade.  :) Full marks to Richa Sharma for defining, blatantly maintaining a grumble-spirit that is so effervescent!

Allah Meherbaan of Divya Kumar
Teri saanson ki ujade hain khet re, Jaise mutthi se fisle hai ret re” lol, a superb techno- qawwali from Trivedi.

Ghanchakkar Babu, Ghanchakkar Babu (Remix)of Amit Trivedi
This song immediately gets into the groove with terrific introduction
Oye Oye Oye Oye Oye Dhappi
Oye Oye Oye Oye Oye Jhappi
Oye Oye Oye Oye Oye Pappi
Umm Muaaaaah :*
And Trivedi with a heavy voice, merrily rides on wonderful-quirky lyrics but, the fast-paced-remix version sucks!
Hey Wah Re Wah, Wah Re Wah
Tujhme Bhar Ke Yeh Shaitani Buddhi
Tauba Keh Ke Shaitano Ne Bhi Karwa Li Nasbandi!! :P

Jholu Ram of Altaf Raja
The inimitable Altaf Raja’s Back ! And sadly with a big dud because Jholu Ram’s completely out of sync. The angrezi interlude does not add any kinda justice and so is the music. However, the video is neatly choreographed.

In Ghanchakkar, Trivedi’s music is not upto his standards , it is due to its eccentric-demanding exercise. But, Amitabh Bhattacharya shines bright like a diamond.

My Picks:
Ghanchakkar Babu, Lazy Lad

References:
Amitabh Bhattacharya: The reluctant lyricist
For eight years, I was a nobody: Amitabh Bhattacharya
Vidya Balan & Emraan Hashmi launch new son ‘Lazy Lad’ from GHANCHAKKAR

Leave a Reply

